Saturday 22 – 29 July 2023


Musselburgh Festival – Election of the Honest Lad & Honest Lass

Whilst we once again enjoyed the huge success of the Musselburgh Festival week which attracted over 1,200 participants and 10,000 spectators, the Honest Toun’s Association continue to face challenges securing an Official Party of eight individuals year on year.

Musselburgh as we know it continues to expand with the building of new houses in various parts of the town, making door to door canvassing across the whole community more difficult.

After extensive consultation across a wide range of individuals who have come forward showing interest in the role of Honest Lad or Honest Lass in the past, it was found that the biggest factor affecting their decision to stand for election was the public vote but more significantly public awareness of those who were unsuccessful.

In a step to ensure the continued success of the Musselburgh Festival, and more in line with the selection procedures of other town Festivals and Common Ridings, it was decided after public notice and membership majority vote at our 2022 AGM, to no longer have a public vote for the role of Honest Lad and Honest Lass.

The election of the Honest Lad and Honest Lass for 2023 will now take place by a selection panel consisting of a diverse representation of Musselburgh, Wallyford and Whitecraig. The prime change will now ensure that applications will not be made public with the exception of two individuals selected as the Honest Lad and Honest Lass.

The selection panel will consist of representatives from:

– Musselburgh & Inveresk, Wallyford & Whitecraig Community Councils

– the Police, Fire Service or NHS

– the collective of past Honest Lads, Honest Lasses & Attendants

– the Riding of The Marches

– Musselburgh Grammar School, St David’s High School and from 2024 a representative from the new Wallyford Secondary School

Members of the public will be able to submit official application forms to join the panel. All applications must be endorsed by a proposer and seconder complete with personal statement.

Applications for 2023 Honest Lad and Honest Lass are now live with application forms available on request via our website, Facebook or in paper form by emailing

Applications can also be completed via our online portal on the link below:




This is the go to platform for Musselburgh Festival. Dating back to 1936, our week long annual celebration honours the traditions of our Town and brings our community together.